Curriculum for Excellence

At Abbeyhill Primary, we strive to provide a varied, flexible, stimulating and vibrant national curriculum that supports all pupils in developing the knowledge and skills that they need both for future learning in school and for lifelong learning.

The National curriculum is ‘Curriculum for Excellence’ and you can find out more about it on the Education Scotland website.

The curriculum is divided into eight areas:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing (please see the information on our Relationships, Sexual Health and Parenthood (RSHP)programme)
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies